Loving LETS


After getting suitably glammed-up and glittered we arrived at the Marine Hall in Fleetwood in anticipation of a fun evening to celebrate the hard working and dedicated people who work in Lancashire’s  tourism businesses. Despite the bad weather the mood was positively Oscar-esq as we mingled with the great and the good for pre-dinner drinks, accompanied by a melody of show tunes performed by students of the Paul Nicholas School of Acting.

Dinner beckoned and the wine flowed, whilst nerves and hopes were raised. Before the award ceremony we were entertained by another troupe of talented young people and then by Tupele Dorgu who sang a medley of Barbara Streisand songs. In my ignorance I didn’t know who Tupele was (an actress from Coronation street apparently) but I was very impressed by her voice. Tupele was then joined by Paul Nicholas in presenting the awards.  I could list all the winners – but you can read the full list via this link – needless to say there were lots of well deserved cheers and celebrations.

I did have two personal favourites who I was especially pleased to see pick up awards. Farmer Ted’s Farm Park – I have had experienced firsthand just how good this tourism team are and I loved Farmaggedon (see the blog). James Gray picked up the award for Best New Entrant to the industry for his astounding achievements at The Ashton (a 5 Star B&B in Lancaster) in less than a year. (I’m also big fan of his Tweets – www.twitter.com/ashtonlancaster )

Finally I did have the honour of collecting a highly commended award on behalf of the team at the Discover Pendle Centre in the Tourism Team of the Year Category who were unable to attend. Since I was unable to give a speech last night; “ I’d like to thank my family  and the LBTB marketing team for this great honour….”

Sally J-L

Leave a Reply

